Kara Small Backpack - £340   99x99 by Luke Stephenson - £30
Rob Brandt Crushed Glass Set - £34   Acne Studios Adriana Trainers - £300
Merchant Archive Large Pineapple - £285   Whistles Adrianne Silk Bermuda Short - £125
Weekday Lunne Trenchcoat - £135   Filippa K Blue Blouse - £85

Londonewscastle presents Emma Richardson

Band Of Skulls vocalist and bassist, Emma Richardson presents her first solo exhibition in London, a series of paintings created in response to music by her band, whose debut album Baby Darling Doll Face Honey has had widespread critical acclaim. The exhibition marks another artistic highlight for Emma and coincides with the release of the band's second, much-anticipated album, Sweet Sour in February.

The exhibition is split into two groups of works, inspired by the first two albums by Band Of Skulls. The first series formed the artwork for their debut album, released in 2009, when Emma's paintings were photographed and digitally manipulated to create the cover. This similar process was developed for their forthcoming second album, where Emma collaborated with designer Vincent Toi and the creative team at The PHI Centre in Montreal, Canada, working with artists Cedric Ginart and Karina Guevin to make a glass sculpture inspired by Emma's paintings. The finished sculpture was photographed and became the cover image for Sweet Sour.

Emma graduated with a BA in Fine Art (Painting) from Winchester School of Art, and is heavily influenced by painters including Cy Twombly and Lucian Freud, Emma's large-scale abstract paintings exploit the medium of oil on canvas to explore the nature of the human form, whilst making use of the medium against the rough canvas. She currently splits her time between her fine art practice and performing in Band Of Skulls, acknowledging the music inspires her paintings, and the paintings lends the music a visual identity.

Emma Richardson: Cruisin' For A Bruisin' is open at the Londonewcastle Project Space from 2 February until 12 February 2012.
28 Redchurch Street
E2 7DP

Opening Times: Daily 11am - 6pm

Sweet Sout will be released through Electric Blues Recordings on 20 February. The 10-track album was recorded at Rockfield studios in Wales with producer Ian Davenport and mixed in Los Angeles by Nick Launay.

Louisa Lau
16:07 - 31/01/12